From “The Word For You Today” by Bruce Christian – Satan Is Defeated (3)

For many of us, death is our greatest fear.  One comedian quipped, “I don’t mind dying, I just don’t want to be there when it happens!”  But we can’t joke away the sobering reality the Bible describes as “the last enemy.”  So what’s the answer?  Jesus!  “Only by dying could He break the power of the Devil, who had the power of death.  Only in this way could He set free all who have lived their lives as slaves to the fear of dying” (Heb 2:14-15 NLT).  Until Jesus came, Satan used the threat of death.  Until then we all lived in fear of it.  But because of the resurrection, all Satan has left are the lies he can tell about death.  The word “destroy” implies “to reduce to zero” (See 1 Jn 3:8).  Wow!  By His death and resurrection, Jesus reduced Satan’s power to zero.  And today Jesus says to you, “Do not be afraid; I am the First and the Last.  I am He who lives, and was dead, and behold, I am alive forevermore.  Amen.  And I have the keys of Hades and of Death” (Rev 1:17-18 NKJV).  After destroying the prison of Death, Jesus came out and said to Satan the jailer, “I’ll take those keys,” then He went back to heaven.

We grieve the loss of a loved one, and that’s a healthy thing to do.  But you can handle the grief when you know you can live through it, and that you’ll be reunited in heaven with your loved ones.  So even in death, we win and Satan loses.

5 thoughts on “From “The Word For You Today” by Bruce Christian – Satan Is Defeated (3)

  1. Keri Williams

    Wayne,
    This is a timely post. As I write my husband is talking on the phone to his family. He just found out that his mother has advanced stage cancer…it is sad and painful, but even in death she will triumph. Thanks for the reminder.

    Reply
    1. Wayne Augden Post author

      Keri

      I’m so sorry to hear about you’re mother-in-law. I will certainly pray for her. Would it be okay to put her on my prayer request page? If so, just leave me her name. May God Bless You, and your husband and his family, with His peace and strength during this time.

      Reply
    2. Eddy

      Sorry to hear about your mother-in-law Keri. Unfortunately my mom is fighting an uphill battle with her own health, and I am battling one with my faith. Wayne, this is very timely. Thanks

      Reply

Leave a Reply

