Daily Archives: July 16, 2012

From “Music For The Soul” by Alexander Maclaren

History has a voice, and if we choose to listen to it, rather than talk about it, we can still hear it’s echo….still trying to speak truth even now….

HUMAN REMEDIES FOR SIN UNAVAILING

Though thou wash thee with lye, and take thee much soap, yet thine iniquity is marked before me, saith the Lord God. – Jer_2:22

Education? Yes! it will do a great deal, but it will do nothing in regard of sin. It will alter the type of the disease, because the cultured man’s transgressions will be very different from those of the illiterate boor. But wise or foolish, professor, student, thinker, or savage with narrow forehead and all but dead brain, are alike in this, that they are sinners in God’s sight. I would that I could get through the fence that some of you have reared round you, on the ground of your superior enlightenment and education and refinement, and make you feel that there is something deeper than all that, and that you may be a very clever, and a very well educated, a very highly cultured, an extremely thoughtful and philosophical sinner, but you are a sinner all the same.

Again, we hear a great deal at present, and I do not desire that we should hear less, about social and economic and political changes, which some eager enthusiasts suppose will bring the millennium. Well, if the land were nationalized, and all  “the means of production and distribution” were nationalized, and everybody got his share, and we were all brought to the communistic condition, what then? That would not make men better, in the deepest sense of the word. The fact is, these people are beginning at the wrong end. You cannot better humanity merely by altering its environment for the better. Christianity reverses the process. It begins with the inmost man, and it works outwards to the circumference; and that is the thorough way. Why?  Suppose you took a company of people out of the slums, for instance, and put them into a model lodging-house, how long will it continue a model?  They will take their dirty habits with them, and pull down the woodwork for firing, and make the place where they are as like as possible to the hovel whence they came in a very short time. You must change the men, and then you can change their circumstances, or, rather, they will change them for themselves. Now, all this is not to be taken as casting cold water on any such efforts to improve matters, but only as a protest against its being supposed that these alone are sufficient to rectify the ills and cure the sorrows of humanity. ” Ye have healed the hurt of the daughter of My people slightly.”  The patient is dying of cancer, and you are treating him for a skin disease. It is Jesus Christ alone that can cure the sins, and so the sorrows, of humanity.

 

From “The Word For You Today” by Bruce Christian, Satan Is Defeated (5)

The power of persuasion…

SATAN IS DEFEATED (5)

     The only power Satan has over you is the power of persuasion.  “The serpent..asked the woman, ‘Did God really say you must not eat”…Of course we may’…’You won’t die…God knows that your eyes will be opened…And you will be like God’…The woman was convinced.  She saw that the tree was beautiful and it’s fruit looked delicious, and she wanted the wisdom it would give her.  So she took some…The she gave some to her husband…At that moment their eyes were opened, and they suddenly felt shame…When the cool evening breezes were blowing, the man and his wife heard the Lord God walking about in the garden.  So they hid from the Lord God among the trees.  Then the Lord God called to the man, ‘Where are you?’  He replied, ‘I heard you walking in the garden, so I hid.  I was afraid because I was naked'” (vv. 3:1-10 NLT).  Never forget that story!  And keep this in mind also: Satan is a talker, and you’ll never out talk him.  The power of persuasion is an incredible thing.  The fashion industry can persuade you to take a wardrobe you paid a small fortune for last year, and replace it with what they’re selling now.  Clothes you felt good about then, you don’t want to be even seen in now.  The trouble is, in a few years’ time the clothes you wore last year will be back in fashion; you’ll be poor, and the fashionistas will be rich.  Temptation is all about persuasion.  But if Christ has already persuaded you, Satan can’t make you do anything.

Following “Don’t Test God, Trust Him!”

The following Don’t Test God, Trust Him! is the absolute unvarnished truth.  As Shenine says don’t click the ‘like’ button if you’re just going to read it and not be willing to apply it.  But expect miracles to happen if you do in your relationship with God and in your life.  No kidding, this is a great article, and I commend Shenine  for her faithful witness to Christ in carrying out what God laid on her heart to write.  I’m going to do this, and I’m going to share my experience with you as I do so.  I need the accountability doing so will give me, but I also want to encourage people in taking this step by knowing that I’ve made the same commitment to it and am living it out.  Perhaps you don’t need to do this, and if so I praise God for bringing you to this point in your relationship with Him.  I’m not a 100% to the point that Shenine writes about, but I long to be, and want to be with all my heart, and I’m going to trust Him to make it happen.

She gave a blueprint for how to do it, so I’m going to follow it exactly.  This: “Write all your concerns and problems down on paper, and read them to God, forget nothing and submit it and leave it (in bible). Continue to worship Him before getting out of bed and throughout your entire day. Every now and then go to the sheet in your bible and check it. You will see that God has been answering and solving your problems.  This will encourage you to continue to trust Him more and more. It is not to test God, but to trust Him.” is what she said to do.  So follow along and you can see along with me what happens as a result…..

The following is my list of concerns and problems:

I don’t want to feel like I’m always in a struggle in my prayer life.  I want to learn how to pray better.  To have more confidence in my prayer life.  I feel so inadequate when I pray.

I want to grow in the Grace and Knowledge of my Lord Jesus Christ, and “God’s Holy Word.”

I want to get to the point that I don’t doubt ever….that God loves Me, and that He has always loved Me.

I want to be able to live with the pain I experience with grace  and love and in a way that honors God and is a great witness to the grace and love He has shown me.

I want to be able to show that Jesus is my first priority in how I live my life.

I want to live my life in such a way that no one has any reason to doubt that I’m a Christian in every sense of the word.

I want to get to the point where I don’t have any questions or doubts about how God is going to take care of me.

I want to have a greater love and desire to serve Christ than I do.

I need another vehicle so my wife can drive and I don’t have to drive her everywhere. (She can’t drive a standard, and driving for more than 30 minutes causes me incredible pain.”

I have house taxes and house insurance due, and haven’t worked since Aug of 2011.

I want to be healthy enough to be able to hold a job so that I can provide for my family.  I do NOT want to be on disability or be forced to draw SSI.  I want to work.

I want to be able to pay my bills.

I want to be a better father to my children.

I want to be a better Sunday School Teacher, and do a better job of ministering to those who have needs that I see around me.

I want to give all my energy to loving my Lord, to loving my family, and those around me instead of using so much of it to just deal with my life as it is.

So there it is.  I’ve probably said too much about myself, but how will you if I’m progressing if I don’t let you know something of what’s going on.  I invite you to pray for me, as I will for you.

I want to thank everyone for their encouragement and support and friendship.  It has meant a lot to me.

Your brother-in-Christ,
Wayne